by Crystal Barrett
(On a rock, Florida, USA)
I only know a little bit about Victim of Crimes grants. I only know about what relates to DV. I work in Florida and I know the amount of funds has just been cut due to the sad economy. However even a little is better than nothing.
You need to file a police report within 72 hours of the Domestic Violence. You need to file for the funds with in 30 days ( I believe ).
You must be willing to assist the State attorney in prosecuting if they need you to.
You must account for the money spent. (receipts)
If you misuse the funds or return to the abuser, you may be prosecuted and fined, and must repay the money.
You may be able to file for each victim in your family, children are primary victims just like you.